homeschool debate | Forums Wiki

HomeSchoolDebate

Speech and Debate Resources and Community
Forums      Wiki
It is currently Fri Feb 23, 2018 9:59 am
Not a member? Guests can only see part of the forums. To see the whole thing (and add your voice!), just register a free account by following these steps.

All times are UTC+01:00

Forum locked  This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next
 Post subject: parametrics?
PostPosted: Wed Nov 18, 2009 5:39 pm 

Home Schooled: Yes
Hey guys!
I am a novice debater and was recently at a tourney where someone mentioned parametrics debate. (I'm spelling parametrics wrong...) I tired to look up a definition on the internet... but it sounded like normal debate..... so could someone explain what it means... or if "normal" debate actually is parametrics?
Very confused,
twizzlerz

Lancaster/Thomas|2011-12|PSDC|R9
Lancaster/Miller|2009/10|PSDC|R8

"Five exclamation marks is the sure sign of an insane mind." ~ Terry Pratchett

Post subject: Re: parametrics?
PostPosted: Wed Nov 18, 2009 6:06 pm 
I eat Jabberwockys for breakfast

Could a Higher Mod Than I move this into Debate Theory?

Actually, there have been several good discussions about parametrics (you were spelling it right, your spell checker is just dumb) on these boards. Here are some good topics to check out:
viewtopic.php?f=13&t=8255
viewtopic.php?f=13&t=5399
viewtopic.php?f=13&t=7709

Some are more advanced than others. The second is probably the best one to check out. Let us know if you have any more questions.

Eloi Eloi lama sabachthani

PostPosted: Wed Nov 18, 2009 6:06 pm 
Epicness at its awesomest

Someone please correct me, as I've only been able to learn by reading everyones discussions on the subject: